• EU e-Privacy Directive

    This website uses cookies to manage authentication, navigation, and other functions. By using our website, you agree that we can place these types of cookies on your device.

    View Privacy Policy

Home / Monitored IGOS / Interregional Organisations / International Organization of La Francophonie

International Organization of La Francophonie


Name: International Organization of La Francophonie
Acronym: OIF
Year of foundation: 1970 (ACTC) , 2005 (OIF)

Headquarters: Paris (France)

OIF documents: go to page

OIF official web site: go to page


Parliamentary Assembly of La Francophonie



The International Organization of La Francophonie (OIF) was created with the objective of promoting a dialogue to develop a political and economic solidarity between the French-speaking peoples.


Member states

The OIF has 53 member states, namely:

  Albania                                    Andorra          Belgium             

 Wallonia French Community of Belgium     Benin               Bulgaria  

  Burkina Faso                           Burundi            Cambodia 

 Cameroon                                Canada             New Brunswick


 Quebec                                 Cape Verde         Central African Republic   

  Chad                                     Comoros          Democratic Republic of the Congo

  Republic of the Congo            Côte d'Ivoire        Djibouti    

  Dominica                               Egypt                Equatorial Guinea   

   Republic of Macedonia            France                Gabon        

 Greece                                  Guinea              Guniea-Bissau    

  Haiti                                     Laos                  Lebanon     

  Luxembourg                          Madagascar        Mali          

 Mauritania                              Mauritius              Moldova     

   Monaco                              Morocco               Niger    

  Romania                              Rwanda               Saint-Lucia     

 São Tomé and Príncipe            Senegal              Seychelles  

 Switzerland                             Togo                  Tunsia          

 Vanuatu                             Vietnam




The International Organization of La Francophonie was created in an international context dominated by the Cold War and in the wake of the process of decolonization.The Organisation was open  to those countries where French was the official language or the main minority language. First inaugurated as the Agency for Cultural and Technical Co-operation (ACTC) and then as Intergovernmental Agency of La Francophonie, it took the present name of Organisation of La Francophonie with the constitutive Charter adopted in November 2005. 


Bringing together countries from around the world with a political and socio-economic post-colonial background, the Organization has committed itself to promoting initiatives regarding especially issues such as solidarity, democracy and technological advancement. The protection of linguistic and cultural diversity, the promotion of democracy and human rights, the support for scientific research and education as well as the promotion of sustainable development have been the key objectives on witch the OIF has based its action strategy.


By working with organizations such as UNESCO and creating a structured relationship with other linguistic regions, particularly the English-speaking countries gathered in the Commonwealth, the Francophone Association has played an important role in encouraging dialogue among cultures. The OIF has also intensified its cooperation with the European Union, the African Union and the United Nations, where it gained the status of observer member (1998), with the objectives  of conflicts prevention, political stability and fighting against inequalities. Over time the Organization of La Francophonie has actually become engaged in international policy, emerging as an important multilateral cooperation area.


OIF structure and decision-making procedures

The Francophonie Summit

The Francophonie Summit is the highest authority of the organization. Every two years it brings together the Heads of State and Government of member countries. They meet to establish guidelines for cooperation, updating objectives and strategies.

The Ministerial Conference

Annually the foreign ministers of member contries meet with the aim to ensure continuity in terms of policy among the summits.They are called to oversee the implementation of decisions taken in previous summits and to check the working agenda of the next summit.

The Permanent Council of La Francophonie

Made up of the ambassadors of the member countries, the Permanent Council of La Francophonie is responsible for planning meetings between political leaders and coordinating the work of operational agencies.

The Secretariat-General

Created as a political body in 1997 at the Summit of Hanoi (Vietnam), the Secretariat-General is elected every four years by the Summit and acts as the official representative of the organization in international forums.

The Parliamentary Assembly of La Francophonie

Created in 1967 in Luxembourg as the International Association of French-Speaking Parliamentarians (AIPLF), the Francophone Parliament brings together representatives of national assemblies and local governments of member countries and states, once a year in a plenary session. The Assembly has been recognized as having the role of an advisory organization. On the basis of reports submitted by its commissions, the Parliamentary Assembly expresses opinions and makes recommendations to the Summit, the Ministerial Conference and the Permanent Council in all areas of activities relating to the francophone space.

Operational agencies

The most important is the Francophone University Agency (AUF), which is responsible for the implementation (or application) of cooperation programmes adopted at summits.
The other operational agencies are The International Association of Francophone Mayors (AIMF), Senghor University of Alexandria, Egypt,  as well as the French-speaking television channel  TV5 Monde.


Decision-making within OIF

Within the OIF the resolutions are adopted by consensus. In the case of voting, decisions are made by a majority of nine tenths of the members present and voting. Abstention is not considered a vote.



©2001 - 2020 - Centro Studi sul Federalismo - Codice Fiscale 94067130016