• EU e-Privacy Directive

    This website uses cookies to manage authentication, navigation, and other functions. By using our website, you agree that we can place these types of cookies on your device.

    View Privacy Policy

Home / Monitored IGOS / Interregional Organisations / Council of the Baltic Sea States

Council of the Baltic Sea States


Name: Council of the Baltic Sea States
Acronym: CBSS
Year of foundation: 1992

Headquarters: Stockholm, Sweden

CBSS documents: go to page

CBSS official web site: go to page


Baltic Sea Parliamentary Conference

BS NGO Network




The Council of Baltic Sea States (CBSS) is an intergovernmental forum created among the countries of the basin with the aim to foster their co-operation in a number of fields, from economics to environment, transport to education.

Member states

The CBSS has 12 member states, namely:

   Denmark       Germany     Norway      Sweden 

   Finland          Estonia       Iceland       Latvia

   Lithuania        Poland       Russia       Flag of Europe.svg European Commission



As a response to the pressures for continental reunification emerging in Europe after the Cold War, in March 1992, in Copenhagen, Denmark, Germany, Norway, Finland, Sweden, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Russia and Iceland agreed to create the Council of Baltic Sea States (CBSS) with the participation of the European Commission. Environmental protection, energy, trade, culture and the protection of human rights have been the key objectives on which the Council of Baltic Sea States has based its Action Strategy. At an economic level, customs procedures have been simplified contributing to the growth of trade. At the same time, cross-border co-operation has been strengthened on projects concerning communications.


Focusing on subjects related to regional and international politics, the intergovernmental forum has been able to increase the visibility of the Baltic quadrant in the wider European context. However, for Brussels the Council, which brings together members from both inside and outside the EU, is a strategic platform for political debate.

BSSC structure and decision-making procedures

The Conference of foreign ministers

The Conference is the highest-level body of CBSS. It meets every two years and is responsible for defining the guidelines of the dialogue process.   

The Ministerial Committee of Senior Officials (CSO)

The Committee, costituted of leading representatives of the Ministries of Foreign Affairs, has the function to assist the Council Presidency and to coordinate the organisation’s activities.

The Expert Groups

The Expert Groups are in charge of carrying out sectorally the Council's initiatives and programs. There are five expert groups, namely:


- The Expert Group on Economic Co-operation (WGEC),
- The Expert Group on Nuclear and Radiation Safety (WGNRS),
- The Expert Group on Youth Issues,
- The Expert Group on Customs Co-operation and Border-Crossing Aspects (WGCCBA),
- The Expert Group on Maritime Policy. 

The Permanent International Secretariat

Created In 1998, in Stockholm, the Permanent Secretariat has the function to provide technical support to the decision-making structures of the Council, ensuring enhanced coordination of organization's initiatives.  

Decision-making within CBSS



©2001 - 2020 - Centro Studi sul Federalismo - Codice Fiscale 94067130016