• EU e-Privacy Directive

    This website uses cookies to manage authentication, navigation, and other functions. By using our website, you agree that we can place these types of cookies on your device.

    View Privacy Policy

Home / Parliamentary Assembly of La Francophonie

Parliamentary Assembly of La Francophonie

From the institutional point of view, the Francophone Parliament is based on four commissions with sector-based competences:
- politics;
- education, communication and cultural affairs,
- co-operation and development.

The assembly is composed, in addition to the internal commissions, by a Secretariat-General and an Executive Committee with the task of ensuring  that all the decisions made by the Plenary Assembly will be implemented.

Based in Paris, the Francophone Parliament was recognized as having the role of an advisory organization during the Summit of Mauritius (1993). This recognition was confirmed on the Charter of La Francophonie, adopted at the Summit of Hanoi (1997).

The Parliament has supported the implementation among member states of cooperation programmes in the areas of legislative rights, communication and culture. The Francophone Assembly also has committed itself in promoting election observation missions and, in some cases, has come to suspend the countries’ parliaments in case democratic principles were violated.

©2001 - 2020 - Centro Studi sul Federalismo - Codice Fiscale 94067130016